Vanilla macarons with salted caramel buttercream

image

Vanilla macarons with salted caramel buttercream.

I didn’t:
-age my egg whites
-use cream of tartar or other stabilizer
-add caster sugar slowly or separately to egg whites
-use a silicon mat

I did:
-bang trays with piped macarons on cupboard
-let them sit and dry out for about half an hour
-bake each tray separately
-sift the almond meal and icing sugar

image

For the filling, I made a caramel sauce from white sugar by melting it, alone, in a saucepan. I then added warm cream and melted in some butter and salt.

Once it had cooled, I gently whisked it into some buttercream until I reached the desired consistency and flavour.

image

Leave a Reply

